Monday, 20 March 2017

Gratitude in Low Voices: A Memoir, 2017, Dawit Gebremichael Habte ****

Gratitude in Low Voices is the inspiring story of Dawit, who had to flee his home country Eritrea in the throes of war to join his elder brother in the USA. Dawit narrates the flow of life coupled with some historical event . I found out Eritrea was Ethiopian colony.
The story started as usual, life was not perfect, but they were happy to be home, his father lived in exile as he was one of those who opposed the Ethiopian government, however, he never stopped caring for his family. In one of the ways he cared for his children was asking them to move from the village to the city where

Monday, 27 February 2017

Tierra de Brujas, 2016, María Ferreira **

Leí sobre el libro por primera vez en el blog Literafrica, me llamó la atención el título "la vida en un psiquíatrico de Kenia" dí por entendido que posiblemente sería un relato sobre el trabajo de  un psiquiatra en un centro psiquiátrico o incluso el relato de un enfermo psiquiátrico ya recuperado. Pues, no acerté, no se trata ni de lo uno ni de lo otro.
Tierra de brujas, es la experiencia de una jovencita española de unos veintitantos años en un pueblo cerca de Nairobi, la historia se podría leer como un diario. Parece ser, que acabó la carrera de psicología en España, al no saber que rumbo darle a su vida decidió

Sunday, 19 February 2017

Ghana Must Go, 2013, Taiye Selasi ***

I am glad I did not purchase this book when it was first published, with all the marketing hype and I am not even sure still why the title "Ghana Must Go". To make matters worse, firstly, I have not read any novel so far with so many short sentences, sometimes even without an action word, the verb, making my reading experience somewhat disengaged and I struggled through the first (not few) pages. Secondly, there is a lot of going to and fro in a confusing way. For instance, it goes without saying that the narrative of pieces of memory combined with actuality could be poetic, artistic and different, however, requires effort to comprehend.Thirdly, I dislike all of the characters, none of them has stamina.

Kweku immigrates to the U.S.A where he studies Medicine and becomes one of

Sunday, 12 February 2017

A Bit of Difference, 2012, Sefi Atta ****

One of the reasons why I have not read this book for a long time is because of its low ratings on Goodreads and Amazon. My interest rekindled when I reviewed Americanah and one my readers said it is the same story line as A Bit of Difference by Seffi Atta. However, I wonder why it is so low rated. Most readers say it is because of the writing style, let me tell you, there is nothing wrong with the writing style it is just different and does not complicate the comprehension of the story. Some say that they do not like the ending, however, it is a typical open-ended story that does not deserve those low ratings.

A Bit of Difference is similar to Americanah, it talks  about racism, hair, love, immigration, family matters, homosexuality and nothing in particular. Seffi Atta intervened in the telling of the story and would not let

Sunday, 5 February 2017

The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears, 2007, Dinaw Mengestu ****

An Ethiopian refugee flees his home country to the United States of America after his father is brutally assassinated. He lives with his uncle, who also is a refugee, and later on moves into a lowly neighbourhood where he opens a store and meets a woman and her daughter. The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears might seem like another simple typical immigration story, far from, it narrates on the fate of a

Wednesday, 1 February 2017

Grill and Read Annual Readers' Awards 2017

Anouncing Readers' Awards Nigeria


The Speech House International, initiators of Grill-And-Read programme are happy to announce a call for nominations for the inaugural G&R Annual Readers’ Awards (GaRARA). The awards seek to recognise the contributions of the reading community to the socio-economic development of the nation. The award also recognises that readers occupy a position of influence in the society and that their collective strength can be harnessed to bring about change in the way reading and writing are perceived.  

The awards which will honour readers, authors, publishers, and organisations will come in 13 categories and will include

Sunday, 29 January 2017

The Destination Series Books

The Destination Series

The Destination Series is a set of novels tracking the adventures of the Rowland twins in different countries across Africa. The first two are set in Zimbabwe at the Chinhoyi Caves. The third, to be published soon is set in Ouadane, Mauritania.

  

The Sleeping Pool 
Not All Myths Or Their Creators Die!

When Shaun Rowland is faced with a fresh threat to the control of his father's

Thursday, 26 January 2017

Buchi Emecheta R.I.P

One of my favourite writers of all time passed away on the 25th of January 2017.

https://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2012/05/joys-of-motherhood-1979-by-buchi.htmlhttps://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2012/05/second-class-citizen-1974-buchi.htmlhttps://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2012/09/the-bride-price-1976-by-buchi-emecheta.html

https://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2013/06/kehinde-1994-buchi-emecheta.htmlhttps://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2015/01/head-above-water-1986-buchi-emecheta.html

Please click on image to read reviews.

Thank you Buchi Emecheta for your contribution to literature, you'll always be remembered.

Sunday, 22 January 2017

2016 Book of the Year


I read many interesting books in 2016, click here to see my reading highlights, however, Disgrace is outstanding in many ways. This is a novel that could have perfectly been over 400 pages, however, the author was sparse with words and still put across his message accurately. The editing and writing of this novel is perfect. He described the  complexities in human relationship using specific people and their every day life. The quality and form of his prose, the characteristic of his sentence is something I cannot describe in words, it is just a whole different level. With this book he won the 2003 Nobel Prize in Literature, 1999 Booker Prize, 2000 Commonwealth Writers' Prize: Best Book, Africa. It is also one of the best 100 novels written in English. He surely deserves all of them.

I hope I am able to enjoy all of his works as much as I have enjoyed Disgrace, also I look forward to seeing Disgrace the movie.

Have you read Disgrace? Have you read other works of J. M. Coetzee?

I am glad that since I started this blog, books by authors from different countries in the African continent are making my book of the year; Zimbabwe 2012, Mozambique 2013, Tanzania 2014, Nigeria 2015 and lastly South Africa 2016. Please click here to read about this compilation. 

Please click on image to read review of Disgrace.

Sunday, 15 January 2017

Disgrace, 1999, J.M. Coetzee *****

David Lurie (white South African) has sexual intercourse with one of his students, Melanie. To say it is consensual is hard, due to the unequal power relationship between both parties. Professor and student. He is expelled. Following the scandal, he visits his grown up daughter in the country side, where she "farms". While he is there, they are attacked by some black South Africans in their own house, something terrible happens. Another scandal, How will he survive this time? The two of them alone in

Friday, 6 January 2017

2016 Reading Highlight

Below are my 2016 reading  highlights. I READ, I ENJOYED and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Next week I will be announcing my book of the year.




Saturday, 31 December 2016

Happy New Year 2017

Yes,  I can now say that 2016 was fantastic, I read 21 books!  At least I did better than last year, I read a book more.








What about you? have you read any book mentioned above? How was your reading experience in 2016? Please tell us, or post link to your review.

Wishing you a prosperous reading in 2017.

Please click on image to read review.

Monday, 19 December 2016

Little Boys Come from the Stars,1998, Emmanuel Dongala ***

"Little Boys Come from the Stars" is a story told from the voice of one of triplet brothers, Matapari (Michel). He was born a day after his twin brothers were born, sort of a miracle child. In my opinion, an account that did not add much to the story.

He narrates about the political life in the Republic of Congo, its independence from the French, the role he, his beloved grand father and his father  played. He narrates about corruption, nepotism, coup d'etat, revolution and democracy in his home country.

His father like his grand father is very learned and just in his ways. His mother is

Monday, 12 December 2016

Blogger Spotlight: Bookshy by an African book lover


Zahrah Nesbitt-Ahmed is from Nigeria – born and raised in Lagos, to a Nigerian father from Nasarawa and a British-Caribbean mother of Kittian heritage. She left for university a little over 12 years ago. She currently lives in London where she blogs from. Zahra is a Research Fellow at a research institute, focusing on women’s rights and women’s economic empowerment. At the moment of the interview, she is taking a new role in a social development firm – still working on women’s economic empowerment. Her educational background has largely been in the field of Geography and International Development. Her undergraduate degree is in Human and Physical Geography (University of Reading). Her Masters in Urbanisation and Development (with a strong focus on gender) and her PhD in Human Geography and Urban Studies.


How long have you been blogging for? How long do you look forward to blog for?
I started blogging December 12, 2011 (I actually remember the first post I ever wrote and where I was when I wrote it) – so almost 5 years now. As for how long I see myself blogging? I honestly don’t know. I like to think for as long as I still love it and enjoy it, and so far that love hasn’t gone away. 

How often do you blog? 
Nowadays it’s pretty erratic, and happens either when I have the time or when I have a thought or idea that I really must write about and I’m too excited to not blog about it.

Do you blog for a living?

Sunday, 4 December 2016

So The Path Does Not Die, 2012, Pede Hollist ****

Fina is snatched away by her father from the middle of an initiation rituals that her grand mother has prepared for her in the forrest. Following that, she left her village to the city with her parents and little sister. Life in the city is not as promised, she loses her father and is forced to leave the country for the U.S.A. Life in  America is not as expected either, however, there are opportunities so she grabs them.

Nevertheless, she still does not feel she belongs, somehow in many ways her past continues to haunt her, she feels that there is a circle in her past life in Sierra Leone that is not yet closed. However, how does she return back home if her country is in the throes of a civil war and all her family members are dead or displaced.

Will this feeling of not belonging let her lead a peaceful and fulfilling life in
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...